Skip Navigation

A A A+


Council meets three times a year and takes a strategic overview of the policies and development of the Institute.


Professor Dame Celia Hoyles DBE FIMA
London Knowledge Lab, UCL Institute of Education
Dame Celia is a Fellow of the IMA and also holds Chartered Mathematician and Chartered Mathematics Teacher designations.

Vice President, Professional Affairs and Industry


Dr Richard Pinch CMath FIMA CSci
Civil Service

Vice President, Communications


Professor Christopher Budd CMath FIMA
University of Bath

Vice President, Learned Society

Professor Elizabeth Mansfield FIMA
University of Kent

Honorary Treasurer


Professor Neil Challis CMath FIMA CSci
Sheffield Hallam University

Honorary Secretaries

Professor David Arrowsmith FIMA
Queen Mary University of London

IMA Council

Dr Charles Evans CMath FIMA
Formerly University of Portsmouth

Elected Members
Dr Danielle Bewsher MIMA
Dr Danielle Bewsher MIMA
University of Central Lancashire


Ms Noel-Ann Bradshaw MIMA
University of Greenwich


Eur Ing Nick Buckland OBE FIMA


Dr Diane Crann MIMA
The Royal Institution

Professor Paul Glaister CMath FIMA CSci
University of Reading

Rear Admiral Nigel Guild

Rear Admiral Nigel Guild CB FREng CMath FIMA  
Retired Naval Officer


Dr Jennifer Macey CMath MIMA CSci
Computational Physicist and Mathematical Modeller

Mr Garrod Musto
Mr Garrod Musto CMathTeach FIMA

Kingswood School 

Professor David Percy
Professor David Percy CMath FIMA CSci
University of Salford

Dr Carol Robinson

Dr Carol Robinson CMath FIMA
Loughborough University

Dr Jennifer Scott
Dr Jennifer Scott FIMA

STFC Rutherford Appleton Laboratory

Professor Edward Stansfield

Professor Edward Stansfield CMath FIMA CSci
Retired Technical Consultant

Dr Daniel Tilley

Dr Daniel Tilley CMath FIMA 
Newman & Spurr Consultancy

Dr Helen Wilson

Dr Helen Wilson MIMA
University College London

Professor Stephen Wilson: Image by Peter Hudston (2012)

Image by Peter Hudston (2012)
Professor Stephen Wilson FIMA
University of Strathclyde

Co-opted Members

Dr Gordon Blunt

Dr Gordon Blunt CMath FIMA CSci
Gordon Blunt Analytics Ltd

Dr M. Benjamin Dias

Dr M Benjamin Dias CMath FIMA CSci
Senior Commercial Analyst, Tesco Stores Ltd.

Professor A.D. Fitt  CMath FIMA CSci
Oxford Brookes University

Professor P.J.G. Lisboa  CMath FIMA
Liverpool John Moores University

john perkins

Professor John Perkins CBE CMath FIMA
University of Manchester


Dr Alan Stevens CMath FIMA
Formerly Rolls-Royce plc

Immediate Past-Presidents

Professor R.S. MacKay FRS  CMath FIMA
University of Warwick

Professor Michael Walker

Professor Michael Walker OBE CMath FIMA
Formerly Vodafone Group

Professor David Abrahams CMath FIMA 
University of Manchester